The Ink Feather Collective

The Ink Feather Collective


Check out an audio sample of THE MIME ORDER, Samantha Shannon’s second book in THE BONE SEASON series!

I’ve been pounding through audio books this year; most of the books I’ve read actually have been on audio (I think something like 20 of the 25 books I’ve read). There’s something about a fantastic narration that adds to the storytelling, and if you’re not an audio book person, I’d encourage you to try.

One series I’m absolutely gaga over, for both the story itself and the audio versions, is THE BONE SEASON series by Samantha Shannon (THE BONE SEASON and THE MIME ORDER are currently out). What’s it about? Here’s the official blurb for book 1:

The-Bone-Season-by-Samantha-Shannon_thumb1The first pick of NBC’s Today Book Club

Featured in New York, USA Today, and Forbes, and on

Enter the world of Paige Mahoney, a gifted clairvoyant, a “dreamwalker,” in the year 2059. Her natural talents are considered treasonous under the current regime. Snatched away to a secret prison, she encounters another race, the Rephaim, creatures who wish to control the powers of Paige and those like her. One in particular will be assigned as her keeper, her trainer. But his motives are mysterious. To regain her freedom, Paige must learn to trust, in the prison where she is meant to die.

I was a bit late to the game for the first book in the season, but I devoured it earlier this year, and have had the pleasure of listening to the second book, THE MIME ORDER, as well. Thanks to we have an excerpt of the second book for you to check out below. THE MIME ORDER released earlier this year, but we wanted to make sure word kept spreading about this addicting series. And stay tuned, we’ll be bringing you the review of this amazing book in the near future! But for now, enjoy the audio, which is narrated by the awesome Alana Kerr (she also did THE BONE SEASON). Here’s the summary, but beware of spoilers if you haven’t read the first one!

M_O_BlackIn the internationally best-selling The Bone Season, Paige Mahoney escaped the brutal penal colony of Sheol I, but now her problems have only just begun: many of the fugitives are still missing and she is the most wanted person in London. As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on Paige, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take center stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner. Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided. Will Paige know who to trust? The hunt for the dreamwalker is on.



Here is no comments for now.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: