The Ink Feather Collective

The Ink Feather Collective

Menu

Dual author interview and giveaway! Tessa Gratton and Natalie C. Parker talk books at SDCC 14!

We’re thrilled to bring you a really great dual author interview with Lytherus favorite Tessa Gratton and awesome newbie author Natalie C. Parker (just in time for Natalie’s book release tomorrow)! We had a blast talking at SDCC 14 about all sorts of bookish things, and we’re really excited to share the interview with you. And as a bonus, we’re going to be giving away copies of both books below.  Check it out!

Tessa Gratton is the author we’ve interviewed the most here at Lytherus, and that’s because we love her. Her United States of Asgard series is fun, fresh, and filled with cool Norse myths that she combines with modern times. The second book in the series, The Strange Maid, continues the awesome that was started in book one with some new characters that are unlike any we’ve ever encountered before. Here’s the summary:

strange maidFans of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, and Maggie Stiefvater will embrace the richly drawn, Norse-influenced alternate world of the United States of Asgard, where cell phones, rock bands, and evangelical preachers coexist with dragon slaying, rune casting, and sword training in schools. Where the president runs the country alongside a council of Valkyries, gods walk the red carpet with Hollywood starlets, and the U.S. military has a special battalion dedicated to eradicating Rocky Mountain trolls.

Signy Valborn was seven years old when she climbed the New World Tree and met Odin Alfather, who declared that if she could solve a single riddle, he would make her one of his Valkyrie. For ten years Signy has trained in the arts of war, politics, and leadership, never dreaming that a Greater Mountain Troll might hold the answer to the riddle, but that’s exactly what Ned the Spiritless promises her. A mysterious troll hunter who talks in riddles and ancient poetry, Ned is a hard man to trust. Unfortunately, Signy is running out of time. Accompanied by an outcast berserker named Soren Bearstar, she and Ned take off across the ice sheets of Canadia to hunt the mother of trolls and claim Signy’s destiny

Also, tomorrow marks the release of another book a really enjoyed, Natalie C. Parker’s Beware the Wild. I remember Natalie telling me about this book almost two years ago, when she was hanging out as I got Tessa’s measurements for the Beyond Words author calendar. This book is perfect fall reading, filled with Southern myths, creepy swamps, great characters and an interesting story. Here’s the summary:

beware the wildSouthern Gothic gets a whole new twist in this debut novel, sure to appeal to fans of the New York Timesbestselling Beautiful Creatures series.

The swamp in Sterling’s small Louisiana town proves to have a power over its inhabitants when her brother disappears and no one but Sterling even remembers that he existed. Now Sterling, with the help of brooding loner Heath, who’s had his own creepy experience with the swamp, must fight back and reclaim what—and who—the swamp has taken.

Beware the Wild is a riveting and atmospheric page-turner readers won’t want to miss.

So enjoy the interview as we talk about traditions in stories, locations as characters, writing people who are flawed and more!

Also, since we’re in the fall spirit, we’re giving away a copy of each book to one lucky winner. AND, BONUS, you’ll get some surprise swag from each author! Be sure to enter below. US entries only. Giveaway good until 11:59 pm
a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget.rafflecopter.com/load.js

0 comments

Here is no comments for now.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: