The Ink Feather Collective

The Ink Feather Collective


Excerpts From Upcoming Melissa Marr Book “Graveminder,” and Newly Released “Divergent” by Veronica Roth

Wow, there have been a lot of great book samples released recently, and today isn’t any different. I’ve got two goodies for your reading pleasure!

New York Times best-selling author Melissa Marr (of Wicked Lovely fame) has her newest book, Graveminder, coming out next week on May 17th. This is her first book for adults, and there has been a lot of hype building around it, due to her wildly successful YA series. HarperCollins Publishers has featured an excerpt exclusively on their website. Click here to view it.

What’s it about? Here’s the Amazon summary:

The New York Times bestselling author of the Wicked Lovely series delivers her first novel for adults, a story about the living, the dead, and a curse that binds them.

Rebekkah Barrow never forgot the tender attention her grandmother, Maylene, bestowed upon the dead of Claysville, the town where Bek spent her adolescence. There wasn’t a funeral that Maylene didn’t attend, and at each Rebekkah watched as Maylene performed the same unusual ritual: three sips from a small silver flask followed by the words “Sleep well, and stay where I put you.”

Now Maylene is dead and Bek must go back to the place–and the man–she left a decade ago. But what she soon discovers is that Maylene was murdered and that there was good reason for her odd traditions. It turns out that in placid Claysville, the worlds of the living and the dead are dangerously connected. Beneath the town lies a shadowy, lawless land ruled by the enigmatic Charles, aka Mr. D–a place from which the dead will return if their graves are not properly minded. Only the Graveminder, a Barrow woman, and the current Undertaker, Byron, can set things to right once the dead begin to walk.

The other one I am particularly excited about, since I just purchased the book and hope to review it soon for Lytherus. Divergent is the first book in a trilogy by 22-year old newbie author Veronica Roth, and since its release last Tuesday May 3rd it has already shot to #6 on the New York Times best-seller list. Not too shabby for a first-timer! The first chapter is up on the web for sampling. Again, the publisher is HarperCollins, so we have to link to their website. Here you go!

Here’s the summary from Amazon:

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves… or it might destroy her.

Debut author Veronica Roth bursts onto the literary scene with the first book in the Divergent series—dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.



Here is no comments for now.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: