The Ink Feather Collective

The Ink Feather Collective

Menu

Lytherus book club: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

We are so so excited to bring you The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey for the May book club! As soon as I read the blurb on this I knew immediately that I wanted to feature this book. It sounds weird, unique, amazing, and fun. And I’m not the only one who thinks so: this book has gotten a bunch of fantastic reviews, including starred reviews from both Kirkus and Booklist.

Lytherus book club header may

Here’s the official summary:

GIRLMIDNIGHT_5_6For fans of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.
Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.
Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.
Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.
But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

We’ll be posting summaries of the book throughout the month. We want you to read along with us, so you can submit questions for us to ask the author in our exclusive interview at the end of the month. Don’t miss your chance to talk to this new author; we have a feeling she’s going to go far, and quickly.

We’re also playing catch-up with the past few months. We still have a few posts to make and interviews to do, thanks to schedule clashes. Stay tuned for notices on those too!

0 comments

Here is no comments for now.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: