The Ink Feather Collective

The Ink Feather Collective

Menu

Seeker is a perfect balance of fantasy, scifi, and heart.

Today marks the release of Seeker, the first book in a trilogy from Arwen Elys Dayton. This fantasy-scifi mash-up is part adventure, part coming of age story, and is one of the coolest, most unique stories we’ve read in a long time. This book is getting a lot of buzz, has a large first printing, and has already been optioned for film by Columbia Pictures. We’re going to have an exclusive interview with the author, as well as a giveaway of this amazing book, so stay tuned this week!

My review is mildly spoilery, so if you want absolutely no clues on anything, read it after the book.

What’s it about? Here’s the official summary:

seeker“Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Marie Lu’s Legend, and Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived.”-School Library Journal

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.
As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.
And she’ll be with the boy she loves–who’s also her best friend.
But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.
Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.

 

I’m going to change up this review a bit. Here are ten things I loved about this book that I think readers will too:

1- There’s a fantastic, interesting love triangle between Quin, Shinobu, and John. It’s complicated, and wonderful, and I really love how things progress as the story goes on. I’m extremely interested in seeing how the relationships pan out over the next book.

2- The magic in Seeker is amazing. The Seekers can cut through the fabric of the world and show up somewhere else. The item that allows it is called an athame, and not only do they do this incredible thing, but they’re family herilooms, which ties into the story in an interesting way. There are also side characters called the Dreads that have a major role with this magic, and it’s really great how their stories play out in the book.

3- the weapons are really cool. There’s something called a whipsword, which can change between all sorts of weapons with just a flick of the wrist. I mean, imagine the possibilities with something like that. Katana? Ax? Broadsword? Whatever you’re in the mood for! There’s also this intense blaster called a Disruptor that’s really freaky. It sort of fries your energy, and it’s definitely an ominous thing to behold.

4- There’s a gigantic flying ship- and not just for the cool factor, but it actually serves an amazing purpose in the story which I found incredibly clever.

5- The family drama. Quin and her father have major, major issues throughout the story. They’re pretty messed up, and these struggles overcast the entire book, including things with her mom. These issues play a major role in where the story goes. There are also really complicated things with family in John’s life, things that are surprising (big-time!) and change what we think we know. Shinobu has some intense family stuff happen too. Needless to say, family is a major theme in the book.

6-The locations! The book takes place in Scotland, a futuristic London, and Hong Kong. Who would have guessed such incredibly different environments and cultures would blend so well into a fantastic story. They also help divide the action in the book, which helps it flow nicely. I don’t read a lot of books that have an Asian influence like this one did, and it was really fun to experience that in addition to the UK.

7-  the POV shifts. This book is told in third person, and we alternate between different characters, depending on what’s happening. This is part of what makes this a great story, because each character’s journey is so unique. I’ve become a big fan of books told this way, and Seeker fits right in.

8- The climax. Man, does stuff hit the fan at the end of this book. It’s kind of a crazy free-for-all, with all the things that are happening. But the author handles it seemingly effortlessly, and the climax flows from one intense moment to the next. It’s one of the best climaxes in a first book in a series I’ve read in a really long time.

9- The quiet moments. For all the adventure and running around that happens in this book, there are some fantastic calms before the storms, so to speak. There are pretty great one-on-one conversations between various characters, and it really gives this story heart. I think that’s why I like it so much, because it’s really balanced between the people and the world. And these moments play a big part in that.

10- An amazing scene where two characters do something absolutely bonkers. It involves parachutes, fireworks, night, crazy wind, heightened emotions … need I say more? I don’t want to spoil it, but it was one of my favorite scenes.

This book hits the ground running, and doesn’t stop. There is a great balance between the characters and the world, and I think that’s one of the reasons I loved it so much- I was swept away by the fantastical elements, and yet it still had that intimate insight to the characters that helps readers really connect with the story. I was really impressed by the author’s juggling of all the elements of the story, and I felt really satisfied by the end, yet still want more. I can’t wait to see what happens with this series.

Have you read Seeker? We’d love to hear your thoughts on the book! And stay tuned for more goodies: Tomorrow, February 11th, we’re posting a giveaway for a copy of this fab book, and on Thursday the 12th we’ll be posting the exclusive interview we did with the author at San Diego Comic Con! We sat on this one for a while to save it for now, and we’re really excited to share it with you. So be sure to stop back tomorrow and Thursday!

0 comments

Here is no comments for now.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: